17 January 2005

More Award Winners

The winner of the 2005 Printz Medal is Meg Rosoff for how I live now.

The Printz Honor winners are Kenneth Oppel for Airborn, Gary D. Schmidt for Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy, and Allan Stratton for Chanda’s Secrets.

The winner of the Coretta Scott King John Steptoe New Talent Author Award is Barbara Hathaway for Missy Violet and Me.

The winner of the Coretta Scott King Author Award is Toni Morrison for Remember : The Journey to School Integration.

The Coretta Scott King Author Honor books are The Legend of Buddy Bush by Sheila P. Moses, Who Am I Without Him? : Short Stories About Girls and the Boys in Their Lives by Sharon G. Flake, and Fortune’s Bones : The Manumission Requiem by Marilyn Nelson.

The winner of the Coretta Scott King John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award is Frank Morrison for Jazzy Miz Mozetta (written by Brenda C. Roberts).

The winner of the Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award is Kadir Nelson for his illustrations of Ellington Was Not a Street (written by Ntozake Shange).

The Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor winners are Jerry Pinkney for illustrating God Bless the Child (written by Billie Holiday), and Leo and Diane Dillon for illustrating The People Could Fly : The Picture Book (written by Virginia Hamilton).

The recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Lifetime Achievement Award is Francesca Lia Block.

Sadly, no Pura Belpre Awards this year. This award is "presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth." Unfortunately, it seems they only look for such a positive depiction every two years. Well, next year, then...

No comments: